Return to Headlines

Sylacauga High School Recognized with Top Honors at Alabama FBLA State Leadership Conference

SYLACAUGA, Ala. - More than 2,200 of Alabama’s best and brightest high school students traveled to Birmingham on April 11-12, 2019, to connect with top future business leaders and showcase their talents in a wide array of competitive events.

Sixty-seven Sylacauga High School FBLA members attended, taking home more awards than any other school in the state in presentation competitive events. This year 40 Sylacauga FBLA members placed in competitive events, setting a new school record.

Sylacauga FBLA competitors won first place in the following events: American Enterprise Project, Elizabeth Arnold, Konner Knight, and Morgan McKinney; Digital Video Production, Max Cleveland and JC Reams; Electronic Career Portfolio, Grace Abernathy; Local Chapter Annual Business Report, Bentley Walker; Public Service Announcement; Keziah Sanders and Ibby Dickson; Social Media Campaign, Alyssa Miller, Kendra Myles, and Lacey Wood; and Website Design, GG Hackett.

Taking home second place honors were as follows: Business Ethics, Ella Kate Brooks, Adalyn Conn, and Mattie Blankinship; Community Service Project, Kaleigh Smith and Rachel Kidd; E-Business, Madelyn Friday; Graphic Design, Colby Green and Brylane Hay; Impromptu Speaking, Lauryn Wood; Introduction to Business Presentation, Sydney Ezekiel and Kaylee Patterson; Partnership with Business, Jillian Curtis and Faith Richardson; Public Service Announcement, Gabby Knox, Jordyn Basinger, and Madison Clark; Social Media Campaign, Sophie Hutchinson, Cassidy Terrill, and Mason McKinney; and Sports & Entertainment Management, Max Jackson and Anna Reeves.

Third place winners: Community Service Project, Zach Miller and Kaitlin McKelvy; Introduction to Financial Math, Emily Porch; Partnership with Business Project, Bentley Walker and Grier Marlowe; and Public Speaking, Landon Owen.

Fourth place winner: Introduction to Public Speaking, Hayden Hope.

Members placing in the top four of competitive events are eligible to attend and compete at the National Leadership Conference in San Antonio, Texas, this summer.

Sylacauga FBLA took home the most prestigious award of the conference, being named Alabama FBLA’s Most Outstanding Chapter for the fourteenth time in sixteen years. The chapter received an award for raising the second largest amount of money for March of Dimes, FBLA’s national partner, with a total exceeding $7,000. Sylacauga FBLA was also the largest local chapter in attendance at the State Leadership Conference and received the following awards: Gold Seal Chapter Award of Merit, Outstanding Level of Blueprint for Success, and District V Most Outstanding Chapter.

Ibby Dickson was named District V Who’s Who, an award recognizing the most accomplished FBLA members. Ella Kate Brooks was also voted into office by Alabama FBLA members as the new Alabama FBLA State President. Her duties as state president are effective immediately following the State Leadership Conference.

“Sylacauga FBLA represents our school and community exceptionally well through continued
success in competitive events, service projects, and leadership positions. We are truly blessed to have such outstanding leaders at Sylacauga High, and these kids amaze me daily,” said Pamela McTier, lead Sylacauga FBLA Adviser.

Sylacauga FBLA is led by McTier, Allyson Craddock, and Jake Elliff and is the largest
student organization at Sylacauga High School with 174 members.